F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

Helena -> Olivia
Della -> Leah
Kit -> Caleb

There, I said it. I didn’t want to say it, because Tarryn Fisher is my favorite author, but I can’t ignore my constant feelings while reading this stand alone novel. It reminded me a lot of the Love Me with Lies series, just condensed.

“Who wants to hide from the truth? Maybe people who have had too much of it. Or people who have had too little. Or people who are too shallow to appreciate its hard edges.”

This story is about a girl, Helena, that likes her safe life and thinks she has it all figured out. That is, until she has a dream that shows her what her future could really be like. From then on out, she is on a quest to push her boundaries and find the girl who she is meant to be.

“Let people feel the weight of who you really are, and let them fucking deal with it. ”

The writing is phenomenal, because Tarryn Fisher always delivers with words that make you feel everything. The characters were great, and each experienced great character growth (good and bad). The love was dirty, messy, real, but perfect. But the story just wasn’t unique from her Love Me with Lies series. I understand there are big differences, but the general plot was just too similar for me to give this novel anything more than four stars. It’s obviously still a good book, and I especially recommended this to anyone that has not read the Love Me with Lies series, because I’m sure you’d then give it five stars for being unique and heart-wrenchingly good.

“Timing is everything when you’re about to tell someone you dreamed him into your heart.”

Tarryn Fisher really is the most talented author I’ve read, and Mud Vein has impacted me more than any book I’ll probably ever read. Well, we will say it’s tied with Harry Potter , which is also a constant theme throughout this book. It is referenced left and right, and I had a stupid smile on my face each time. Even the hashtagged chapter titles in the Harry Potter font had me giddy as hell. Sometimes I feel like Tarryn Fisher just writes with everything I love in mind, which is why she is my favorite author with no contestation.

Oh, also… This book has a goat named Melanie. Like, please, no, stop.

One thought on “F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

Leave a Reply

