Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

“We’re all just wandering through the tundra of our existence, assigning value to worthlessness, when all that we love and hate, all we believe in and fight for and kill for and die for is as meaningless as images projected onto Plexiglass.”

I really enjoyed this book, however, Jason is the most unintelligent genius, ever. His character made the story rather predictable. I still really enjoyed this fast paced thriller, but I feel our main protagonist could have been written a little better to make the story feel more ominous.

This book is all about a multiverse and its alternate realities! Seriously, if you’re like me and having Stranger Things withdrawals, you’ll probably enjoy this book immensely just because of the basic premise, too.

Our main protagonist, Jason, is a physics teacher, living in Chicago, with his wife and child. Overall, he’s pretty happy with the life he has built, but he’s always wondering if he squandered his potential to be something “greater”.

That is until he is abducted and wakes up to a life that is his, but in a parallel universe where he doesn’t have his family, which he soon realizes is worth more than any science achievement.

And that truly is the main theme of this book: Be grateful for the life you live and do not take it for granted. I mean, that’s a sentiment that resonates pretty powerfully within me.

“How can something so powerful in one world not bleed through into this one?”

In this book, and maybe in this life, our world is one of an infinite amount filled with different possibilities from different outcomes of events. Different choices we make cause different forks in this thing we call life.

Example: In this life, I am writing this review for you guys. In a different world I never discovered my love for reading, so I never made a Goodreads account, therefore I wouldn’t be writing this review.

This concept is multiplied to an extreme level in this book, and it really does make you stop and think. Our life is so short and minor choices we make really can affect our other choices for the rest of our lives.

“We’re more than the sum total of our choices, that all the paths we might have taken factor somehow into the math of our identity.”

Any book that can stop and make me think, while also making me self analyze, is a book I will always recommend. I think this book is for sure worth the read, and I’m so thankful I was about to get an ARC of it.

2 thoughts on “Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Leave a Reply

